Hello world! (the first post)

‘Hello World!’  How very suitable.  For a writer that has been secretly writing for all her lifetime to just decide to open up her books to the world, ‘Hello World!’ is most appropriate.  After years of writing behind locked doors and keeping pieces of writings on scraps of papers hidden in bedside drawers to today where she displays herself to the world, ‘Hello Word!’ is most befitting.  From believing that every string of words she puts together is hers and hers alone to read, to wanting to share her literary creations to the world, ‘Hello World!’  is just right.

A very long time ago, a professor told me that once a writing is published it doesn’t belong to the writer anymore.  That made me hold on even more.  How dare anyone lay eyes on any of my bundle of words without my consent. I pick and choose whomever I bestow the honor and privilege to read my word creations.  How could I lay them out there for anyone to read.  How would anyone have the audacity to interpret meaning as he pleases from my pieces.  Each was written of a certain time and of a certain experience.  And that is all they stood for.  My writings were not open for interpretation, until today.

Why not then? Why not later?  Why now?  I don’t have the answer.  All I know is that now it feels right.  Now I feel ready to share, to say it out loud.  Now I’m ready to let go of my darlings that I have long protected, overprotected.  One by one, I will let go to the world.

Today I give you a piece of me, part of my core, what I am made of, my composition in words and rhythm.  Open for interpretation.  I belong to you now.  Judge me, criticize me, interpret me.  I let go to you.

And so ‘Hello World!’  is just perfect to start this journey.

5 comments
  1. First said:

    Hello writer! Good luck and looking forward to reading your ‘bundles of words’

  2. Um Mimi said:

    welcome to the blogging world…this blog has been longly awaited. I am so glad that you decided to share your writing with the world and I cannot wait to read more 🙂 best wishes

  3. RAB said:

    Nice thoughts, delicately expressed. Glad to meet you.

Leave a Reply

